2011.05.03 – Sixx:A.M. «This Is Gonna Hurt»


sixxhurt"This is Gonna Hurt" will roll out in an innovative multi platform release structure, similar to the multi platform release pioneered by Sixx for his first book release "The Heroin Diaries". The artistic endeavor pairs the new book with accompanying multimedia projects: a soundtrack, a new single, a book signing tour and select Sixx:A.M. shows.

Primordially, the release date of the album was set on the 10th of May but then it was bumped up to an earlier May 3 release.

As part of the anniversary celebration of "Sixx Sense With Nikki Sixx" and "The Side Show Countdown With Nikki Sixx"., Sixx:A.M. world-premiered the video for their new single, "Lies Of The Beautiful People", on February 16, at 9 p.m. PT/midnight ET. The video for the single was posted online at the same day.

The album is highlighted by tracks like the first single, "Lies Of The Beautiful People", which tackles contradictions in society. Contradictions that inspired Nikki and even had Nikki questioning, "if I find beauty in all these places that most deem 'freakish' and 'macabre,' then why do I also, at times, seek out beauty in what society calls beautiful? Am I contradicting myself or am I able to actually look beneath the surface when others sometimes can't? This is a good question. Make no mistake when I refer to "The lies of beautiful people" I mean what I say but I am also saying look beneath the skin."

The album as a whole deals with many raw, human issues. Nikki talks about the album as "pulling back the veil on your internal truth." Saying, "We are who we are… Either poisonous and evil or honest and willing… Willing to make a difference… I haven't led the life of a saint nor do I intend on it now."

The thoughtful album — produced entirely by James Michael with writing credits going to Sixx, Michael, Ashba and band friends John William Lowrey and Blair Daly — dives deep into meandering emotions through epic melodies. The resulting work is a deep, dark and intoxicatingly addictive mix of sounds and passion.

On 20th of February the details of "This Is Gonna Hurt" were revealed.


01. This Is Gonna Hurt (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

02. Lies of the Beautiful People (Michael, Sixx, John William Lowrey, Ashba)

03. Are You With Me (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

04. Live Forever (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

05. Sure Feels Right (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

06. Deadlihood (Michael, Sixx, Blair Daly)

07. Smile (Michael, Sixx)

08. Help Is On the Way (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

09. Oh My God (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

10. Goodbye My Friends (Michael, Sixx, Ashba)

11. Skin (Michael, Blair Daly)

No comments