16th October 2011 at 00:58

Bret Michaels' New Solo Album To Feature Def Lepard Members


Poison frontman Bret Michaels has his way, his next solo album, "Get Your Rock On," will be a guest-studded affair that will feature Def Leppard's Joe Elliott and Phil Collen, Stevie Nicks, possibly members of Lynyrd Skynyrd and younger groups such as Pop Evil and My Darkest Days.

"I'm in the process of doing it as we speak," Michaels tells "When you're having other artists perform with you, it's about working with their time schedule and a lot of taking care of some of the business before you can enjoy the pleasure of just jamming together. I try to keep it pretty organic. We have to make sure everyone's good with the timing and can get into the studio to sing. But I think we're going to have a blast making this record."

Michaels already has Elliott and Collen targeted for "Get Your Rock On's" title track, while other collaborations will be determined in the near future. He says the album may also include a live version of "Margaritaville" he performed with Jimmy Buffett and his Coral Reefer Band during 2010 at the DTE Energy Music Theatre in suburban Detroit.

Mostly, however, Michaels plans "to draw on original stuff -- not that there's anything wrong with covering things. But I'd rather write some original stuff and have a really great song and then have someone else perform it with me. So that's what we're shooting for."

As for a timetable, Michaels is hoping to have a first single -- likely the title track -- out by the end of the year, digitally if not on CD.

No comments