Vain was formed in Santa Rosa, California in 1986. The band relocated to San Francisco and began playing local clubs, opening for other hard rock bands like Guns N' Roses. Those times lineup was: Davy Vain, guitarists Danny West and James Scott, bass player Ashley Mitchell and drummer Tommy Rickard. They signed with Island Records, who released their debut, No Respect in 1989. The record was produced by Paul Northfield, who had previously worked with progressive rock band Rush. Davy Vain co-produced. The debut single and accompanying video Beat the Bullet was a minor hit, providing the band the opportunity to support Skid Row on a European tour.


In 1991, Island Records released Vain from their conract before the band could release their second studio album All Those Strangers. On that moment only a few copies of promo recordings were aviable for management and studio owners.

West and Rickard left the band in late 1991. Guitarist Shawn Rorie and former Guns N' Roses drummer Steven Adler joined the band, which was re-named Roadcrew. The band quickly fell apart due to Adler's drug habit(s), but many of the Roadcrew songs can be found on later Vain releases.

In 1993, the classic Vain lineup, minus Rickard, who was replaced by Danny Fury, got back together to release Move On It, a Japan-only release. Louie Senor joined the band, becoming their permanent drummer, and the band released Fade. Both albums showed maturity and growth from the debut, and were critically well-received.

Solo careers

Guitarist Danny West released a solo album in 1995 called Taste the Sounds on Geron Records. The album was a Japan-only release. He also fronted a power pop band in the late 1990's called The Pimps of Venus.


In 2000 Davy Vain released a solo album called In From Out of Nowhere, and also found work as a record producer. He had earlier helped produce thrash metal band Death Angel's debut album in 1987. He later helped as an engineer on Christina Aguilera's Stripped Album.

In 2005, Vain had something of a revival when Gott Discs re-released the band's debut album No Respect worldwide in January of that year. The band also recorded a new album, entitled On the Line which received critical acclaim. A UK tour in 2005 proved immensely successful, and one show was awarded the maximum KKKKK rating by Steve Beebee from British metal magazine Kerrang!. The band toured again in 2006. In summer 2008 Vain played at the 2nd annual 80's rock festival, Rocklahoma.

As of December 2009, Davy Vain has made available copies of the unreleased album All Those Strangers at Vain gigs released on his own record label Jackie Rainbow Records. A limited number of copies of the album are also available via German retailer


Davy Vain - vocal (1986 - 1991, since 1993)
Danny West - guitar (1986 - 1991)
James Scott - guitar (1986 - 1991, since 1993)
Ashley Mitchell - bass (1986 - 1991, since 1993)
Louie Senor - drums (since 1993)

Former members:

Tommy Rickard - drums (1986 - 1991)
Danny Fury - drums (1993)


Studio albums:

1989 - No Respect
1991 - All Those Strangers (released only in 2009 on Davy Vane's label)
1994 - Move On It
1995 - Fade
2005 - On The Line


1989 - Beat the Bullet


1989 - Beat the Bullet
1989 - Who's Watching You